Cinco de Mayo Taco Fever

Dinner last night was sublime, If I can say so myself….

We wanted to pay homage to our Mexican brothers and sisters but weren’t really wanting burritos or fajitas anything other than TACOS!!

I’ve never made tacos before so wasn’t really sure what I was doing but went into the kitchen with a can-do attitude!

The end result were these delicious pockets of spicy meat, guac and cheese. I mean what else could you ask for!!

If you want to see how I made these bad boys, please my recipe below.

Ingredients:

500g minced beef

1 medium onion, diced

1 red pepper, diced

1Tbsp Tomato Puree

1tsp cayenne pepper

1tsp chilli flakes

1tsp paprika

1tsp cumin

Salt and pepper

Taco Shells

To Garnish:

Guacamole

Sour Cream

Lettuce

Grated Cheese

Method:

I started by dry frying the minced beef, once cooked I added the spices followed by the onion, pepper and tomato puree. I added a dash of water so that everything could come together nicely but this evaporated in the cooking process.

Once the meat was cooked I filled the taco shells with the meat mixture, lettuce, sour cream, guacamole and cheese.

DSC_0182DSC_0180